The James Tait Black Prizes 詹姆斯·泰特·布莱克奖

靖博 阅读:528 2019-07-26 12:36:40 评论:0

The James Tait Black Prizes (詹姆斯·泰特·布莱克奖)是英国历史最长的文学奖,创办于1919年,设两个奖项:

  • The best work of fiction
  • The best work of biography

每年由英国最古老的英国文学研究机构——爱丁堡大学文学语言文化学院(the University of Edinburgh’s School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures)颁发,奖金£10,000,用于奖励上年度出版的最佳小说和传记文学。

该奖项由英国出版人James Tait Black的夫人Janet Coats于1919年创办,目的是纪念爱书的丈夫。今年是这个文学奖的100周年。

从2012年开始,该奖又增加了一个新的奖项——The best work of Drama(最佳戏剧文学奖)。

每年八月爱丁堡节(the Edinburgh Festivals)期间举行James Tait Black Prizes颁奖仪式。今年将于8月17-19日举办。

2019年度提名作品已公布 - the 2019 James Tait Black Prizes shortlist:

The four novels competing for the £10,000 fiction prize are:

Murmur by Will Eaves (CB Editions)

Sight by Jessie Greengrass (John Murray)

Crudo by Olivia Laing (Picador)

Heads of the Colored People by Nafissa Thompson-Spires (Chatto & Windus).

The four biographies shortlisted for the £10,000 prize are:

Natives: Race and Class in the Ruins of Empire by Akala (Two Roads)

In Extremis: The Life of War Correspondent Marie Colvin by Lindsey Hilsum (Chatto & Windus)

The Life of Stuff: A Memoir about the Mess We Leave Behind by Susannah Walker (Doubleday)

The Catalogue of Shipwrecked Books: Young Columbus and the Quest for a Universal Library by Edward Wilson-Lee (William Collins).

The winners of both prizes – presented annually by the University of Edinburgh – will be announced at the Edinburgh International Book Festival in August.

*今年的爱丁堡国际图书节(Edinburgh International Book Festival)将于2019年8月10-26举行。